Skip to content

Faculty

  NAME DEPARTMENT RESEARCH EMAIL
Harriet Wood Bowden Harriet Wood Bowden
Associate Professor & Program Chair
MFLL (Spanish) Second Language Acquisition, Psycholinguistics, Cognitive Neuroscience of Language hbowden1@utk.edu
Clara Lee Brown Clara Lee Brown
Associate Professor
Theory & Practice in Teacher Education Academic language proficiency, Content-Based ESL learning, Equity issues in Testing Programs, and Bilingual/bicultural Identity cbrown26@utk.edu
Jeffrey Davis Jeffrey Davis
Professor
Theory & Practice in Teacher Education American Sign Language, Interpretation, Sociolinguistics jdavis49@utk.edu
Patricia Davis-Wiley Patricia Davis-Wiley
Professor
Theory & Practice in Teacher Education L2 Impact VLCs L2 Technologies pdwiley@utk.edu
Bethany K. Dumas Bethany K. Dumas
Emeritus Professor
English Variation (Regional, Social), Forensic Linguistics dumasb@utk.edu
Maria Gallmeier Maria Gallmeier
Senior Lecturer
MFLL (German) Tense and Aspect Systems, Grammaticalization, History of Linguistics, Historical Linguistics, Teaching Methodology mgallmei@utk.edu
Jessi Grieser Jessi Grieser
Assistant Professor
English Sociolinguistics, Variation, Phonetics, Discourse Analysis jgrieser@utk.edu
Jim Hamrick Jim Hamrick
Director
English Language Institute Language Curriculum Development, Program Administration hamrickj@utk.edu
Yen-Chen Hao Yen-Chen Hao
Assistant Professor
MFLL (Chinese) Phonetics, Second Language Acquisition, Chinese Linguistics yhao6@utk.edu
Thorsten Huth Thorsten Huth
Lecturer
MFLL (German) Pragmatics & Interaction, Second Language Acquisition, FL/SL Pedagogy huth@utk.edu
Bernard Issa Bernard Issa
Assistant Professor
MFLL (Spanish) Second Language Acquisition, Bilingual Language Processing, Eye-tracking, Psycholinguistics bissa@utk.edu
Yen-Chen Hao Gregory Kaplan
Professor
MFLL (Spanish) Historical Linguistics, History of Spanish, Sociolinguistics, Medieval and Early Modern Spanish Literature, Converse Literature, Sephardic Studie gkaplan@utk.edu
  Laurie Knox
Senior Lecturer
English English as a Second Language, Linguistics, Technical and Professional Writing lknox1@utk.edu
Jeff Mellor Jeff Mellor
Emeritus Professor
MFLL (German) Germanic Philology, German Linguistics, Teaching Methodology mellor@utk.edu
Tanita Saenkhum Tanita Saenkhum
Assistant Professor
English Second Language Writing, Writing Program Administration, ESL, TESOL tsaenkhum@utk.edu
Robert J. Sklenář Robert J. Sklenář
Associate Professor
Classics Greek and Latin Literature, Classical Tradition, Linguistic Analysis of Literature, Greek and Latin Historical Linguistics rsklenar@utk.edu
Kimberly Wolbers Kimberly Wolbers
Associate Professor
Theory & Practice in Teacher Education (Deaf Education) Applied Linguistics, Reading, Writing and Literacy kwolbers@utk.edu
Dolly J. Young Dolly J. Young
Professor and Vice Chair
MFLL (Spanish) Spanish Psycholinguistics, Applied Linguistics, Materials Development, Second Language Acquisition and Foreign Language Education djyoung@utk.edu

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.